CAPTIVE IN THE DARK by CJ Roberts                        

JANET’S REVIEW: This book was so, so very dark, that I almost didn’t want to read it, but what a huge mistake that would have been. This was one of the BEST books I’ve read in a very long. I’m almost at a loss for words. I’m very glad that I waited till book 2 was out before I read it, because as soon as I was done with it, I went straight to the second one! I couldn’t put them down.

I found myself thinking about the story long after I was done. In fact, even days later, I still thought about Caleb and Olivia. I couldn’t decide if I hated Caleb, for he was one F*cked up person, mean and sadistic SOB or do I feel sorry for him. As for Olivia, all I have to say is, this women could take a beating and keep on ticking. She is one TOUGH CHICK!

I can totally say, this book may not be for everyone, there are a few disturbing scene, that are not for the faint at heart. But if you’re looking for a book to challenge you, while totally sucking you into the story to the point that you have to KNOW what is going to happen next. Then this story is for you.

Cindy’s Review: I put this book off for two reason – one I figured I needed to be in the right frame of mind and second I wanted the 2nd book to be out before I started the 1st. WOW I AM glad I waited for the 2nd book since the ending of this one leaves you hanging but as emotional as this book was its not anywhere near as disturbing as some have said (at least not for me – there was nothing shocking in this book – again to me) 

There is a line from the book that I think describes Caleb perfectly not only in the eyes of Olivia but also it describes his soul.

He was my tormentor and my solace; the creator of the dark and the light within 

Some might look at this book at Olivia’s nightmare to live through. I from the beginning saw it as Caleb’s nightmare. He had been tormented as a child and he thought his solace was in the man that had saved him all those years ago and felt he owed this man by taking on his revenge and in doing that Caleb created his own darkness. When he kidnapped Olivia she became his light. As he could never remember seeing that light before it was blinding to him at first. But as his eyes adjusted he saw her for what she really was – his salvation. 

Leave a Reply

