SEDUCED IN THE DARK by CJ Roberts

JANET’S REVIEW: As soon as I was done with the first book, I started Seduction in the Dark. I just had to know what was going to happen between Caleb and Olivia. This was one of the most raw, brutal, emotional books that I have ever read. I had to put it down several times, just to take a breather. But never for to long. Just as with the first book, CJ Roberts, sucked me in.

In this book, we learn more about Caleb’s tortured past. It always amazes me how we can become what we hate. This is what happens to poor Caleb. In this book, we really get a look inside Caleb’s head and you can’t help but ache for him. Olivia just continues to get stronger and stronger with each page.

I was told that there was a HEA at the end of this book and for the life of me I couldn’t see how in the world Ms. Roberts was going to pull that one off! It was the driving force for me finishing the book and I must say that I was delightful surprised.

I feel this is a must read book, if you enjoy, dark and thought provoking books. My mind kept going back to Caleb and Olivia’s story, even days later. 

Cindy’s Review:  I don’t want revenge, Caleb. I dont want to end up like you, letting some vendetta run my life. I just want my freedom

That line from the book to me was what the book was all about. Not just Olivia not to end up like Caleb but Caleb coming to realize that maybe he no longer wanted revenge and how it had ruined his life and that Livvie was his freedom. 

Most of this book is told in flashbacks. Olivia has escaped but we dont know what all transpired up to that point. It was heartbreaking to see how she was so broken at first but as she told her story to two FBI agents – one forensic social worker Janice Sloan and the other Agent Reed we see her slowly regain her courage that she had through her whole ordeal. 

Her love for Caleb even after all she had been through and seen because of him never wavered. 

Caleb broke my heart in one scene in his treatment to Olivia. But his constant struggle with his feelings for Olivia and to do what was right even if it meant going against the man that he thought had saved him were very emotional to watch. We finally get all of Caleb’s history and I must say I was a little shocked as to the final outcome as to where he came from. 

We get to know Sloan and Reed quite well.. Now there is interesting story for a future book. 

I absolutely love both of these books. This is what being a reader is all about – reading emotional books like this that make you so invested in the characters you feel there pain.

Leave a Reply

