ARC Reviews

I had the pleasure recently to read two ARC’s (advanced reader copies). One from from a debut author and the other a second book in a series. Here are my reviews of both.

Have you ever started a book and knew right away from the first chapter you were going to be losing sleep over the book due to not being able to put it down? That is how is was for me with this book. It is a gut wrenching roller coaster that expertly blends romance and suspense. 

From the shocking opening scene to the gut gripping reveal at the end the author takes us on an emotional journey like no other I have read. The author incorporates her real life experiences in 911 communication and real life tragedies ripped from the headlines and mesmerizes you in this debut novel. 

As the description of the book gives a very good understanding of what the book is about I am not going to rehash that and this is one of those books I think you need to take the journey of discovery on your own. Feel each of the painful things that happen to Kayne and Jessica and on the journey with them as they discover love again and then be shocked when it’s all revealed why all this tragedy happened. 

Its always a treat to find a new author you love and that I did in Julieanne Reeves. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

For two years, State Trooper Kayne Dobrescu has wanted only one thing: to understand why his wife inexplicably killed their children and then herself. Memories haunt his days and lay siege to his nights, leaving him questioning his reasons for living.

Jessica Hallstatt became a widow and single mother the night her firefighter husband died in a fiery explosion at an accident scene. While her husband may have died a hero, he left Jessica with deep emotional scars that haven’t begun to heal. 

When Kayne accepted a transfer to the mountain town of Payson, Arizona, he never expected to meet anyone like Jessica. From the moment he pulled her over for speeding, he was drawn in by her whiskey colored eyes and sassy dimple. But she and her children are a forever type package, and he’s vowed never to give anyone the power to destroy him again. Yet fate has other ideas, throwing Kayne and Jessica together in a fight against an unknown enemy to save the life of a child—and hopefully one another.

Release Date November 20, 2012 in E-book and Paperback
This next author is a real sweetheart. I fell in love with her debut novel She Can Run in 2011. She has since started a second series call Midnight which is assume too. She Can Tell is the second book in her She Can series and it was another great suspenseful novel full of multiple story lines that all converge together with a great supporting cast in a small northeastern Pennsylvania town.  

Rachel Parker has returned home 7 years after running away. She has come back to try and turn her grandfather’s farm into a horse training and breading business profitable after her career ended after being thrown from a horse. Not long after arriving bad things start happening on the ranch. An attempted break in and threatening messages painted on her barn. She just assumes they are from her brother in law who has turned into a mean abusive drunk. She is also suffering from guilt for just leaving town after her mother’s funeral which in her eyes forced her sister to marry young to get away from their father. After getting a call from her sister to come and get her and her kids and rescue them from him she ends up having to fight for her life after finding her sister beaten and unconscious. She is rescued by the Police Chief Mike O’Connell. They are both blindsided by their attraction but carry a lot of baggage that prevents either from acting on it at first. 

Mike still carries guilt for not catching a serial killer that had lived right under his nose. This guilt has has turned into an insane need to protect his town, and there are many weird things going on in town. When his growing feelings for Rachel turns into a conflict of interest and brings him under the radar of some corrupt city council members , one of which who wants to get him fired, he has to decide what’s more important. 

There are multiple mysteries going on at the same time that all converge by the end of the book. The author does a great job of keeping your interest in all of these and wondering what is really going on. There was also a greater sense of camaraderie with the town in this one. Lots of great secondary characters and we get to see how Jack and Elizabeth from the first book are doing. I am looking forward to many more books from this author. 

Release Date December 4th in both ebook and paperback. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s