Shattered Souls (Caitlynn O’Connell, #1)Shattered Souls by Delilah Devlin
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book cast a spell on me while reading it. I’ve never had more interruptions while trying to read and during each one all I could think about is getting back to it because I have to know what happens next. That feeling stayed through out the whole book.

I have never been a big reader of “Urban Fantasy” which is what I keep seeing this called so I went to look up what it actually meant. I found the following “Urban fantasy focuses on an issue outside of a romantic relationship between two characters. Paranormal romance focuses on a romantic relationship between two characters and how outside forces affect that relationship.” Seemed like a fine line to me. Do I think if the H/h romance was removed would the plot still stand as a viable storyline? My answer – I wouldn’t want it without all the hot scenes that were between Caitlyn O’Connell who comes from a long line of witches but has refused to practice her craft since her mother’s death and Sam Pierce, her former partner with the Memphis Police Department and also her ex-husband.

Caitlyn has tried to live a normal life – one free of witchcraft. She joined the police force and eventually married her partner. But she was never honest with him about who she was and where she came from and he sensed this and to dull the spirits she always heard she drank alot. This caused the demise of her marriage. When a mysterious circumstances murder happens Sam pulls her out of a drunken stupor to come and try and help figure out what happened in that hotel room. I must say there were some chilling moments in there on figuring out where the body was.

When Caitlyn left the police force she joined up with a PI named Jason and it seems there current clients case is connected with Sam’s murder.

There are plenty of dark creepy things that happen in this book. The graveyard scene was down right spooky but the author also incorporates plenty of humor even during the scary times. The supporting characters in the book were also so intriguing each one weaving you into there supernatural lives.

This was an addicting read and cannot wait to see what future evils Caitlyn and Sam have to battle along with each other 🙂

View all my reviews

~JANET REVIEW~ 5 out of 5 stars

I don’t even know where to start with this review, so I’ll just jump right into it…. I LOVED THIS BOOK!!

Shattered Souls was a riveting, suspenseful romance story that had titillating elements from the hereafter. The amount of details that Delilah Devlin incorporated into the story, made me feel like I was there, experiencing the adventures.  A few of the scene were so vividly described, that I felt a chill crawl over my skin.

 Shattered Souls has it all…..Demons, ghosts, wraiths.  And who do we have to battle all these evil beings, a witch!  How scrumptious.

Caitlyn(Cait) O’Connell as know her whole life she was a witch, same as her mom, but it was a destiny she refused to accept. Instead she became a cop just like her father.  The voices in her head had a different idea and plagued her continually. To help drown out the voices, Cait drank, heavily.  This caused her to lose her job and her marriage.  No one knew of Cait’s family heritage, not even her ex-husband, Sam Pierce, who happens to also be her ex-partner on the police force.

Shattered Souls starts with Sam waking up a hung-over Cait, telling her he needs her help investigating an unusual case.  As Cait and Sam look over the crime scene, she knows immediately that they are dealing with something supernatural.

As the investigating gets on its way, Cait and Sam not only have to deal with the mystical, they also still have to deal with their feeling for each other. Cait understands that she needs to embrace her powers and accepts her destiny if she wants to solve this case.  As Cait opens up to Sam about her past, Sam sees another side to his wife and the world she grew up in, a world he never believed even existed.  Needless to say, he becomes a believer and Cait’s biggest supporter.  

This is a brilliant beginning of what I think will be a wonderful series.  I can’t wait to see what kind of sinister evil Sam and Cait will battle in the next book.
Leave a Reply

