Review: Translucent by Erin Noelle

Translucent (Luminous, #1)Translucent by Erin Noelle

Sometimes you reach a point where you just can’t take any more — a breaking point, some call it. 

The day I watched my husband murder the woman who was pregnant with his child, my point didn’t just break, it exploded like a full magazine’s worth of hollow points firing through the barrel of a fully-automatic AK-47.

Literally.

I am no longer his American Princess, nor am I his slave.

Now, I’m a murderer in hiding. My name was Bryleigh Carter Oliveira, and that was my story.

Translucent is one woman’s story of breaking free, starting over, and learning to trust again through willful submission.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Every so often you come across a book that just pulls you in. TRanslucent is so shocking yet it’s also a touching love story. This book tells two stories. The shocking one is of a young girl that naively ended up married to a sick and twisted man who was the bastard son of the head of the Italian mafia in Chicago. Other than the very beginning of the book when she kills him their story was told in horrifying descriptive flashbacks. That’s not a spoiler as its told in the book’s description.

Now that girl is 22 and living a new life with a new identity. But the ghosts from the past have a tight rein on her through violent PTSD episodes. After starting a new job she meets a man that she finds herself attracted to but trusting men after what she has been through is not something she ever thinks she can do again. But this man is determined even though he sees she is skittish and has obvious emotional issues he uses kid gloves with her to prove to her she can trust him. Their journey to the beginning of a relationship was beautiful but of course not without its complications.

I knew going into this that it was going to end with a cliffhanger and boy does it. But once I started reading it I couldn’t put it down and I am not upset that I read it even with the suspenseful and cliffhanger ending because the love story was worth it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

