Reviews: Wrecked and Ruined series and Among the Echoes Aly Martinez

I met Sarah Kate Erickson when I was twenty-one years old. I was lucky enough to keep her for seven years before a tragic accident stole her from me. She didn’t die, but sometimes I think it would have been easier if she had.  I lived in a haze for those four years after the accident. Catering to her every need, even though she hated the very sight of my face. I tried to hold on to her and the future that we were supposed to build together. But you can’t hold on to someone that doesn’t exist anymore. It wasn’t until I met Jesse Addison, a barista at the local coffee shop, that I realized I didn’t just lose Sarah that tragic night, I lost myself as well. Jesse taught me how to let go of the past and learn to love again. But what happens when your past haunts your present and the woman you used to love refuses to accept the woman you can’t live without?

I met Sarah Kate Erickson when I was twenty-one years old. I was lucky enough to keep her for seven years before a tragic accident stole her from me. She didn’t die, but sometimes I think it would have been easier if she had.
I lived in a haze for those four years after the accident. Catering to her every need, even though she hated the very sight of my face. I tried to hold on to her and the future that we were supposed to build together. But you can’t hold on to someone that doesn’t exist anymore.
It wasn’t until I met Jesse Addison, a barista at the local coffee shop, that I realized I didn’t just lose Sarah that tragic night, I lost myself as well. Jesse taught me how to let go of the past and learn to love again. But what happens when your past haunts your present and the woman you used to love refuses to accept the woman you can’t live without?

I fell in love with Manda Baker eight years ago, and I loved her to the core of her soul. We were supposed to have that elusive happily ever after and spend a lifetime together. But that was all before she was STOLEN from me.  Her best friend, Sarah Erickson, killed her. It wasn’t intentional. It was far worse. Everyone claims it was just an accident, but I can see through the lies. Even if it’s with my dying breath, I will make her pay for what she did. Fate hates me. It robbed me of my first love and left me to navigate through this world emotionless and numb. Then, one day, spiteful fate gave me a woman to fill my shattered soul and make me feel again. It gave me Emma Jane Erickson. Now I spend my days searching for the answers that will ruin Sarah and my nights falling in love with her sister—the one person who is bound and determined to save her.  But what happens when everything you know to be true explodes around you? Who will be left to pick up the pieces, and who will need to be saved from the wreckage?

I fell in love with Manda Baker eight years ago, and I loved her to the core of her soul. We were supposed to have that elusive happily ever after and spend a lifetime together. But that was all before she was STOLEN from me.
Her best friend, Sarah Erickson, killed her. It wasn’t intentional. It was far worse. Everyone claims it was just an accident, but I can see through the lies. Even if it’s with my dying breath, I will make her pay for what she did.
Fate hates me. It robbed me of my first love and left me to navigate through this world emotionless and numb. Then, one day, spiteful fate gave me a woman to fill my shattered soul and make me feel again. It gave me Emma Jane Erickson. Now I spend my days searching for the answers that will ruin Sarah and my nights falling in love with her sister—the one person who is bound and determined to save her.
But what happens when everything you know to be true explodes around you? Who will be left to pick up the pieces, and who will need to be saved from the wreckage?

Changing Course (Wrecked and Ruined, #1)

Changing Course by Aly Martinez

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One tragic accident 4 years ago changes the course of so many lives. This is a very emotional story of the grief of the 3 people left alive and shows how each of them have not dealt with their grief and the how that has impacted their lives and in turn starts to impact the lives of those around them.

This was not a typical romance story. Two people meet and fall in love and have 7 years of wedded bliss. They also have best friends who are also in the forever kind of love. When the two men who are police detectives are called away while they are all out to dinner the women then are left to drive home on their own and this is where tragedy struck. One died and the other lived but was not the same person afterwards.

Brett practically fell in love with Sarah the moment he laid on eyes on her. He knew this was the woman for him and before long they are married. Seven years later she and her best friend were driving home and got in an accident. Sarah survived but she came back a totally different person. She had violent mood swings, many suicide attempts and wanted nothing to do with Brett. Out of sense of loyalty to his wife he never divorced her and took care of her financially along with all of her medical expenses but the woman he fell in love with no longer existed. For the next 4 years Brett just did his job and lived in a fog. His only highlight was seeing the barista at a local coffeehouse every morning. Due to his circumstances he would never do more than just flirt and admire her from afar. Little did he know that she also was admiring him and decided to make the first move which opens up a huge can of worms but yet also starts the process of the changes he and his wife Sarah and his best friend Caleb (the one whose fiancé died in the crash) have needed for 4 years but it’s a long emotional rollercoaster journey and at the end of this book only Brett has dealt with and moved on. The next two books in the series are Caleb’s and the off her freggin rocker ex wife Sarah.

The woman that finally puts sunshine is Brett’s life was a wonderful character that is thrown in the middle of basically 3 people’s living nightmares and has to hang on for dear life and decide if this wonderful man she’s fallen in love with is worth the amount of sacrifices she continually has to make.

Stolen Course (Wrecked and Ruined, #2)Stolen Course by Aly Martinez

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Stolen Course continues the story of those affected by a tragic accident 5 years ago. We also get to find out what really happened that night and boy is it a shocker.

This is Caleb’s story. Even though Sarah comes off as the most affected by what happened Caleb wins the prize of being the one with the most hate, grief and pain. He lost the most that night and has never been able to get past it. But one woman comes along and restarts his heart that he long since thought was dead.

Emma who is Sarah’s sister was another great character that was great addition to the story and the perfect woman for Caleb. Even with all the depressing circumstances surrounding her she keeps a sense of humor and challenges Caleb in and out of the bedroom.

It was great to see the amount of healing that went on in this book and also the forgiveness. The transformation Caleb went through in this book was beautifully written.

When this journey started in Changing Course I couldn’t see even wanting to read Sarah’s story but by the end of this one I cant wait to get the final book in the series.

My name was Dr. Erica Hill. I was a victim, then a witness, and then I ceased to exist altogether. I may still be breathing, but stripped of my identity, I have long since stopped living. I am invisible, and my life depends on my ability to stay in the shadows. But he sees me. Slate Andrews is the embodiment of everything I have been taught to avoid. He’s rich and famous, and one image of him with a woman would earn millions for any paparazzi lucky enough to snap it. He has vowed to protect me with his life, yet he exposes me with his every breath. I should be stronger and walk away. I should disappear. But I’m terrified he would come after me. I’m on the run, determined not to take him down with me but absolutely unable to let him go. My name is Riley Peterson…at least for today.

My name was Dr. Erica Hill. I was a victim, then a witness, and then I ceased to exist altogether.
I may still be breathing, but stripped of my identity, I have long since stopped living. I am invisible, and my life depends on my ability to stay in the shadows.
But he sees me.
Slate Andrews is the embodiment of everything I have been taught to avoid. He’s rich and famous, and one image of him with a woman would earn millions for any paparazzi lucky enough to snap it. He has vowed to protect me with his life, yet he exposes me with his every breath. I should be stronger and walk away. I should disappear. But I’m terrified he would come after me.
I’m on the run, determined not to take him down with me but absolutely unable to let him go.
My name is Riley Peterson…at least for today.

Among the Echoes by Aly Martinez

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After the horrific circumstance of the first chapter, that is not for the faint at heart, this book then slowly reveals why what happened all why two people fall in love while the evil that was part of the first chapter is still out there and threatens their future.

I like this author’s voice and how she tells a story. You’re given a huge dangling carrot in the beginning and then lead along and given tidbits here and there that’s leading back up to an intense conclusion. I actually whooped out loud when that moment came cause you didn’t see it coming and it freggin rocked the way it went down. There were two big surprises in this book – that one and then if your fans of her other series Wrecked and Ruined, the very last sentence of the book is another shocker as it sets up the 3rd book in that series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

