Review: Destroyed by Pepper Winters

She has a secret. I’m complicated. Not broken or ruined or running from a past I can’t face. Just complicated.  I thought my life couldn’t get any more tangled in deceit and confusion. But I hadn’t met him. I hadn't realized how far I could fall or what I'd do to get free.  He has a secret. I’ve never pretended to be good or deserving. I chase who I want, do what I want, act how I want. I didn’t have time to lust after a woman I had no right to lust after. I told myself to shut up and stay hidden. But then she tried to run. I’d tasted what she could offer me and damned if I would let her go. One secret destroys them.

She has a secret.
I’m complicated. Not broken or ruined or running from a past I can’t face. Just complicated.
I thought my life couldn’t get any more tangled in deceit and confusion. But I hadn’t met him. I hadn’t realized how far I could fall or what I’d do to get free.
He has a secret.
I’ve never pretended to be good or deserving. I chase who I want, do what I want, act how I want.
I didn’t have time to lust after a woman I had no right to lust after. I told myself to shut up and stay hidden. But then she tried to run. I’d tasted what she could offer me and damned if I would let her go.
One secret destroys them.

Destroyed by Pepper Winters

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What would you do if your daughter who has a terminal disease and needs an expensive experimental medication that you can’t afford? Hazel Hunter had a rough childhood and marriage. The only good thing in her life is her daughter but even she comes with an expiration date. Hazel wants nothing more than for there to be some miracle cure for what her daughter has before her time is up.

On a rare night out with her friend at an underground type fighting club she catches the attention of the owner, Obsidian Fox, who thought he was dead inside and cannot stand the touch of another human being. All he feels is rage and when he needs to let some of the rage off he either steps inside the ring to take it out on someone else or he lets a trusted friend beat him to a pulp. When something stirs inside him after seeing Hazel in his club he wants her for a month to do anything he wishes with. Hazel thinks he’s crazy at first but when he keeps upping the amount of money he is willing to pay her to do this the thought of being able to get her daughter the medication she needs wins over common sense.

It was interesting that Fox wanted Hazel for a month with his no touch issues. He literally goes in to violent PTSD rages if someone touches him. At first this scares Hazel to the point that she says this isn’t worth it and leaves but in thinking about it she realizes that there is more to Fox and that maybe she can help him overcome his issues.

She never lets Fox know about her daughter. She keeps that secret close to the vest until much later in the book when by accident her daughter and Fox meet during one of Fox’s episodes. It was so touching to see how a little girl brought him out of the darkness and started him a journey to healing. That is until the inevitable happened and Fox not knowing how to deal with such deep grief, ran.

At his point you think the relationship between Hazel and Fox is permanently damaged beyond repair. It took the loss of a wonderful little girl to make a grown man finally come to terms with his demons and to really think about did he want to lose the most important thing that had ever happened to him. The last quarter of this book will have you sobbing like a baby but the final outcome/ending is so worth it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

