Review: Fear of Falling by S.L. Jennings

I can’t remember the last time I felt completely safe. Security seemed more like a luxury to me, reserved for those who were fortunate enough to have picture perfect childhoods. For those who didn’t bear the ugly scars that keep me bound in constant, debilitating fear. I’ve run from that fear my entire life. But when I met him, for once, I couldn’t run anymore. He scared the hell out of me in a way that excited every fiber of my being. It wasn’t the tattoos or the piercings. It wasn’t the warmth that seemed to radiate from his frame and blanket me whenever he was near. It was just…him. The scary beautiful man that threatened to alter 23 years of routine and rituals, and make me face my crippling fear. My name is Kami and I am constantly afraid. And the thing that scares me the most is the very thing I want.

I can’t remember the last time I felt completely safe. Security seemed more like a luxury to me, reserved for those who were fortunate enough to have picture perfect childhoods. For those who didn’t bear the ugly scars that keep me bound in constant, debilitating fear. I’ve run from that fear my entire life. But when I met him, for once, I couldn’t run anymore.
He scared the hell out of me in a way that excited every fiber of my being. It wasn’t the tattoos or the piercings. It wasn’t the warmth that seemed to radiate from his frame and blanket me whenever he was near. It was just…him. The scary beautiful man that threatened to alter 23 years of routine and rituals, and make me face my crippling fear.
My name is Kami and I am constantly afraid. And the thing that scares me the most is the very thing I want.

Fear of Falling by S.L. Jennings
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Tough look at the effects of extreme childhood abuse. We get an up close and personal view of how that effects the child, the mother who was also abused in front of the child and a male best friend who also suffered unspeakable acts of abuse from a parent and how they cope trying to live with their past as adults.

Kami suffers not only from extreme PTSD but the years of abuse made her think she was unlovable and refused to allow any man to love her or for her to ever feel those feelings for another man. Her father warped the words love in her mind so bad that she thinks love and abuse are the same thing.

When Kami meets Blaine her body and heart recognizes that this is her soul mate but her fractured mind cannot let go of the past.

It was not an easy road for Kami and Blaine through out this book and there was still one more horrible thing that happens to Kami before she is finally able to put her demons aside enough to allow Blaine to love her.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

