Review of Split by J.B. Salsbury – Coming November 15th

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Fighting Series, comes Split, a dark, deeply emotional story of love against the odds, perfect for fans of Katie Evans, Jamie McGuire and Sophie Jackson. After her career goes sour, Shyann abruptly finds herself jobless, penniless, and packing for her hometown - where memories of her late mother and a reunion with her distant father wait. Lucas needs the quiet life. Demands it. And that's exactly what he's found in Payton, Arizona. For the first time in his life, he finally feels like he fits...and is starting to keep his mind in check. Lucas has suffered from blackouts since he was a child. He knows that he's not like other guys. The minute Lucas meets his boss's strong-willed, sexy-as-sin daughter, her probing eyes and personal questions pick away at his barriers. Shyann is everything he wants - and everything he should never have. When the blackouts return, the last thing he wants is to expose how dangerous he can be...

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Fighting Series, comes Split, a dark, deeply emotional story of love against the odds, perfect for fans of Katie Evans, Jamie McGuire and Sophie Jackson.
After her career goes sour, Shyann abruptly finds herself jobless, penniless, and packing for her hometown – where memories of her late mother and a reunion with her distant father wait.
Lucas needs the quiet life. Demands it. And that’s exactly what he’s found in Payton, Arizona. For the first time in his life, he finally feels like he fits…and is starting to keep his mind in check. Lucas has suffered from blackouts since he was a child. He knows that he’s not like other guys.
The minute Lucas meets his boss’s strong-willed, sexy-as-sin daughter, her probing eyes and personal questions pick away at his barriers. Shyann is everything he wants – and everything he should never have. When the blackouts return, the last thing he wants is to expose how dangerous he can be…

Split by J.B. Salsbury
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

On the whole this looks to be a typical romance about girl that ran away from home at 18 who ends up having to come back after her dream of making it in the world of broadcast journalism goes up in flames. But that would be where your wrong…….

This is a story about love for sure but not the typical type we are used to. Shyann’s soul fractured when her mother died. She couldn’t deal with her grief and took that out on her father who was also grieving and left home with a lot of hurtful words being cast from both sides. She hardened her heart and went to college with the end goal of being a TV news reporter. She blows it badly when on her first assignment she lets her personal feelings get in the way on a live broadcast that ends up going viral and getting her fired. With no choice she has to tuck her tail between her legs and go home until she can financially get back on her feet again.

Its here that she meets a man who works for her father’s construction business that changes not only her life but also her view on life. This man is very shy and hardly communicates. She doesn’t understand at first her fascination with him but she works hard at becoming his friend. She has no idea about all the secrets he hides from the world but knows this man has also been fractured in a way from something horrific in his past.

I think readers know from the title of this book that the hero has a split personality. I’m not going to go into great detail about that but I loved how the author chose to write his story and shows us how that effects the person that suffers from that condition and also how it also effects the person that falls in love with someone with that disorder.

There are defiantly dark themes running through out this book but its not a dark book per se. Its a beautiful love story that shows love has no bounds. I love when an author gets creative and gives us something new and Spilt is so heartfelt and touching it leaves a lasting impression long after you’ve finished it.

View all my reviews

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s