Review: Derision by Trisha Wolfe

29560327

Here at Lark and Gannet, you’ll work directly under the partners, being groomed by the most powerful, all-male partnership to handle an exclusive clientele. While within The Firm, your level of training goes deeper, requiring more…varied tasks, which you’re obligated to perform to your Master’s pleasing.

Are you nervous? You should be. Chase Larkin has chosen you to be his submissive.

Alexis Wilde, will you submit?

All I wanted was to save my brother. Something my parents failed to do—and then, I failed him also. As an introvert, getting ahead in the cutthroat law firm required a level of ego stroking I didn’t posses, and that meant my talents were overlooked. Until Chase Larkin noticed me.

My erotic fantasy come to life, Chase is all powerful, all man, all dominant. In one night, he changed my life irrevocably. Now I’m ruined, destined to crave him forever. His scent. His taste. His brutal touch…

If I never followed him to his office that night, then none of this would’ve happened. A stalker on the prowl. Our lives in jeopardy. And only a moment—one pivotal moment—to decide our fate. His life or mine.

*This is a full length, standalone dark romance with an antihero that may trigger uncomfortable feelings for the reader. The court proceedings are centered around tough subject matter.

My Review

DerisionDerision by Trisha Wolfe

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Intricate story that shows how some men when given too much power get over inflated ego’s and god complexes which leads to an abuse of that power some in nefarious ways.

This story is about a group of men that run a law firm. These men are also Doms that run a exclusive and very private BDSM sex club. Their dominate ways are blended into their work environment with their employees. They live life like a game of chess. Every move/decision made can either bring you an advantage or a disadvantage.

There were some things that worked for me in this book and other things that didnt. The current case they were working on about a serial rapist brought up good points – Do you go ahead and defend a man who may or may not be guilty. Is it ok to defame the rape victims just to get your client acquitted? As this plot thread went on there were some surprising twist by the end.

Chase Larkin is one of the head partners that works at Lark and Gannet. He is also a Dominant that also runs The Firm – the sex club that all his partners and employees are part of. A year ago they hired a meek woman to be an intern. She had no idea of the “rules” at Lark and Gannet that a promotion to paralegal meant also having to become a submissive to one of the partners. Chase has never taken a submissive before. Now that Alexis has come up for “auction” per se Chase decides he wants no other to have her.

Alexis Wilde has not had an easy life. After her parents died she became responsible for her emotionally challenged brother who had a drug problem. Needing money to get him the help he needed she applies for an is accepted at a very prestigious law firm not knowing what went on behind the scenes. She had no idea that her applying for a promotion would mean she also had to become Chase’s submissive and all that entails. She agrees to the terms but something neither of them realizes is this has brought her to the attention of a sick twisted man.

I liked Chase and Alexis together – they were evenly suited for each other. What I wished for was the characters to have been a little more fleshed out – more time taken before they got into a Dom/Sub relationship. The relationship aspect was a little to rushed for me especially since Alexis was clueless to lifestyle. There were some other hot points for me but the ending was satisfying.

If your a lover of over the top alpha doms who talk dirty along with liking a little suspense mixed in with your BDSM then I recommend reading Derision.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment